Iraqi National Museum.. opening soon?

museum, originally uploaded by salam pax.

Took this photo a couple of days ago.. It’s the main entrance to the Iraqi National Museum, in case you didn’t recognize it. The last I heard was that the National Museum should be open for the public sometime in February.. at the moment there is a lot of activity around it. Hopefully this is a sign that it will open soon.

5 Responses to “Iraqi National Museum.. opening soon?”

  1. quixote Says:

    Salam, off-topic, I know, but I have to tell you how happy I am to find you again. Yours was the first blog I read, and the one that started me blogging. And it’s also a huge relief to hear your take on the situation in Iraq. The real voices have all fallen silent over the last year or two. I’m obviously partial, but when you say there’s less violence, it doesn’t feel questionable. When I read it on the news, all I can think is, “Yeah, right.”

    Here’s to the speedy opening of the Museum!

  2. cecile Says:

    hey salam, glad to read this too, but, do you know if there have been attempts and/or results to find back objects that were stolen during the looting in 03 and that seem to have disappeared?

  3. Andrew Hazlett Says:

    cecile, apparently, a lot of the artifacts (by no means all) have been recovered.

    This cool guy is one of the people who has helped a lot since ’03.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matthew_Bogdanos

    If the museum opens soon, it will be the happiest news I’ve heard in a long time.

  4. joe Says:

    The opening of this museum will be a big shot in the arm for Iraqi national pride. Just one more example in a long line of positive things being accomplished.

  5. david Says:

    Hello,

    I look forward to the day when I can visit the museum.
    Best Regards

Leave a Reply

