Looking back, one last time.

In three weeks time it’s the 6th anniversary for the fall/liberation of Baghdad.

Baghdad Falls / Baghdad is liberated.. all semantics. What is fact is our life in Iraq as we knew it ended at that day.

Since the start of the war in 2003 we had to move house three times for various reasons. A lot was given away or lost in those moves including a notebook I used as a diary during the days when we had no electricity or internet access, it also contained flyers and other things from those days.

When the bombing stopped a couple of weeks later and the first place with internet access opened I sent all the notes to my blog friend Diana Moon and she posted them for me on my blog. The blog posts from that time are still online, you can go check them out.

While looking through the boxes of our belongings I found the notebook, with newspapers, photos and the flyers I had kept. As five years have passed and we’re entering the our seventh year of our post-war/post-Saddam lives I thought it would be good to look over these notes and share what I have from that time with you.

Until the 9th I hope I’ll be posting things from the notebook and the papers I have, there are new links I can add and photos which have not been put on the blog at the time. I will upload it all online and throw the pieces of paper I have away. Hanging on to all of this for six years is enough.

notebook

One Response to “Looking back, one last time.”

  1. Global Voices Online » Iraq: Six Years On Says:

    […] notes from the days he did not have electricity to blog. His wish to break from the past is clear when he writes: In three weeks time it’s the 6th anniversary for the fall/liberation of […]

Leave a comment